Devotional Doll for Brigid – Baby Steps

This is a thing that is happening. My plan was to wait until I had completed the custom Blythe-style doll before I started this one, but it turns out there is a learning curve to this thing, so I will be doing some study and learning and some base sculpting because I already have a sculpting medium I can use for practise.

The devotional Brigid doll will be a ball jointed doll (or bjd). The first step to creating these is a sketch or a blueprint that is 1:1 scale. I have decided that the standard mini of 44cm (or 17.5″) is going to be large enough. Thus far the dolls I have worked on have been Barbie sized (or 1/6 scale). This will be close to a 1/4 scale. As I’m not used to working with a doll that size, I will definitely be needing the blueprint to keep proportions correct.

I had hoped to find something premade for me, but alas, like thinking I could just buy the doll components and put them together, that was a bit of a pipe dream. I have found a couple that I think I can work from with minimal adjustments:

 

I like the lower body shape of the second, but I am thinking I will make a few adjustments to make her top a little more in proportion to her bottom. I will need the top image for the hands and feet and for the placement of the joints.

I have had some thoughts about creating a single piece torso, but I haven’t decided that yet. It will probably be something that I decide as I am sculpting. I also haven’t decided if I will string the pieces together with the finished sculpture pieces, or if I will make moulds for resin casting. That decision may come down to how much I like the tone of the clay – if I want something that I can’t get from painting, then I may have to cast.

This is the very first step. The rest will be research, trial, and error. I am going to try to post updates, but I am bad at remembering such things, so we will see how it goes. For now, I’m going to watch a few videos, and then print some images and add my own sketches.

Leave a Reply

